Gun Hub Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,055 Posts
That circulated on the High Standard Collectors site a week or so ago.

I have no personal knowledge of that gun.

When I was working on the book I spent quite a bit of time at the factory. George Wilson Sr. was deceased and George Jr. had retired and moved to FL. I did get to meet him and George III was a good friend at Wilson Arms (barrel makers).

Some of the other members questioned some of the information but there really was no hard evidence one way or another.

·
Registered
2,627 Posts
Thanks for the links, Mr. Watters. I really enjoyed the video. What an interesting pistol!

Even in a less than hi-def version of the video, you could see very fine work that went into this pistol, from the fit to the grips to the very nicely polished blue finish.

Couldn't believe they actually shot the thing!

·
Registered
5,678 Posts
Looks like a fixed barrel which should equal great accuracy. The barrel is as even with the top strap of the grip as I've ever seen, so recoil ought to be really mild. All in all, looks like a slick pistol.

·
Premium Member
1,277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Here's a link so you can download a pdf of the patent application with its drawings. Once you enter the verification code it will begin the download:

Espacenet verification

Dan Love displayed his prototype at the 2013 Brownells Gunsmith Conference & Job Fair. It seemed rather chunky through the grip despite being a single stack. Still, it was awfully neat. I later stumbled across a mid-1980s issue of of Gun World in which Love had written a letter inquiring about the magazine's coverage of the Wilson prototype back in the mid-1960s. It seems that Love was so smitten with the design that he had to recreate it for himself.

·
Premium Member
7,055 Posts
The link wouldn't work for me.

I read the claims, but without the drawing it was hard to decipher.