Gun Hub Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gentlemen

I need yourhelp and Dean suggested that I post my request here.

I recently had the opportunity to purchase a used black leather holster from a military surplus store. It was nice, a US military model and fit my FEG plus the price was right - $7.95. I say it was a military model since it has a large US in an oval on both sides of the flap.

What grabbed my attention is that it was ambidextrous model with a snap on flap. Inside was stamped Bianchi M66. It is apparently designed to be used with either a regular webbed canteen belt or a regular issue belt.

Being a retired GI (1954-1975) I have some knowledge of military weapons and accessories. This one, frankly, stumped me. I've looked in the 2000 Janes and done some research on the net but to no avail. Perhaps you or one of your knowledgeable readers can enlighten me as to what I have. Based on the fact that my FEG fits is quite nicely, I suspect that it was made for the .45 but who knows. I might add that it was slightly worn, but not abused.

I have scanned both the removable flap and the body as attachments.

Many thanks.

Paul Garner
[email protected]

:D If everything has gone right, and I punched all the right buttons in the right order, Ihave attached a scan of the flap of the holster. If I screwed up, email me and I will reply with scans of the holster and flap.

·
Premium Member
1,277 Posts
John Bianchi designed the M66 upon receiving requests for an improved holster from troops serving in Vietnam. The desired features included:

1) High ride placement for comfort, mobility, and security;
2) Optional crossdraw;
3) Left hand convertable;
4) Attachments for a number of GI belts;
5) Mounting close to the body.