Gun Hub Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,727 Posts
“OK, I think we’ve got the hang of it now.” I have heard those words before.

One day when I was a young instructor pilot, not long out of pilot training, we got a new squadron commander and executive officer. Both were lieutenant colonels and both were recent returnees from the war in Southeast Asia where they’d been combat fighter pilots. Now, our curriculum had recently been updated to include trail formation, where the wingman drops back about a thousand feet and essentially plays “follow the leader” on the lead aircraft. I was one of the cadre of instructors on the project, which meant I and a few other young captains were tasked with checking out all the other instructors in the squadron.

One evening at the bar the exec pulled me aside and said, “Dinger (my callsign), Colonel Bradshaw and I need to get checked out in trail. How about you and Sluggo (another young instructor) check us out tomorrow?

“Yes sir.”

The following afternoon the four of us headed out to fly. The normal situation would have called for a colonel and an instructor in each jet, but instead both colonels walked over to the same jet and started strapping in. Sluggo and I looked at each other, but neither of us was going to approach the two commanders and tell them they were doing it wrong. “They must have a plan”, we thought.

Anyway, take off and the flight to the practice area were normal. The plan was for the colonels to fly the lead position first, so when we got the signal to “go trail”, all was as expected. They broke away from us, and after a few seconds we broke after them, falling into their six o’clock position about a thousand feet back. We followed them through some hard turns and a barrel roll, when all of sudden they entered a dive, built up a lot of airspeed, then pulled up very aggressively.

“This should be fun”, we thought, “they’re going to do a loop or immellman.”