Gun Hub Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,055 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The current threads dealing with Ars and shok buffs are great examples of the time honored marketing concept of making a market. More bluntly creating a demand where none existed before. “Gee, until you told me I didn’t know I needed one of those.”

Most of the time the seller can craft a perfectly plausible theoretical explanation for why their gadget is better but very often their claims can be neither proven nor disproved.

It has been my lot to run into more than a few snake oil salesmen who wanted me to write about their new wonder product. Lubricants and bore cleaners are especially fertile fields and the BS can get pretty deep. More than a few wanting to sell cleaners had products that defied basic laws of chemistry or contained a newly invented element. Sometimes I would say, “I bet you didn’t know I’m a graduate chemist” or “call **** university and ask about my degree”.

I just loved the lubricant salesmen who made claims of “improved function” for their product. I had a standard response… “show me a gun that absolutely never worked until you put your stuff on it and I’ll tell the world”… some would bluster some more, but many just hung up.

Shok buffs sound reasonable intuitively so when the event they supposedly prevent happens rarely they can automatically claim success. Snake pointed out that one can fail and stop the gun cold.

I already said that op rod AR mods were examples of fixing something that wasn’t broke. Now they well be a better mousetrap but it only took 50 odd years for the M-16 to be thoroughly proven so check with me later.

I’m really awful when it comes to PROOF.

·
Super Moderator
13,173 Posts
Three holes in the 1911 trigger is another example of this.