Gun Hub Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK. I'll start this one. My favorite drives are

- Highway 550 from Durango, CO to Ouray, CO. Awesome scenery! Be sure to take the trip from Silverton to Animas Forks. It's bumpy but worth it.

- Highway 80-something (82?) south from Pagosa Springs, CO to Santa Fe, NM. It goes from a high alpine meadow down in elevation to the arid land near Santa Fe.

- North Cascades Highway in WA. Stunning.

- The trip form I-5 to the north side of Mt. St. Helens is incredible in its own way. especially in the blast zone. Maybe I think its so cool because I am a geologist, but check it out if you're near it.

·
Registered
259 Posts
I'll add something as well

Was taking a cross-country trip awhile back using I-70. The Eisenhower Tunnel near Denver was closed so we were routed through and over the Loveland Pass. WOW!

Anothe neat drive is the Apache Trail in Arizona, east of Phoenix. Starts out blacktop, turns to dirt and loose sand with a particularly hairy descent down Fish Creek hill! :eek:

·
Registered
11 Posts
My favorite is the Going to the Sun road in Glacier NP. We were there this past summer in mid July and the road had only been completely opened for a little less than a week (due to the snow from the previous winter). Incredible views and scenery and you can see the various climate changes right in front of you (from the misty dampness near the waterfalls in the valley, to the tundra up at the pass, to the arid valleys of the eastern side of the mountains).

If you are in the area a real nice drive (though hard to find) is up to Hungry Horse Dam (10th tallest in the US) and around the reservoir of the same name. It is just south of Glacier but was almost completely deserted (38 mile long lake), I think we saw 10 cars all afternoon.

Greg

·
Registered
11 Posts
awesome posts