Gun Hub Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to shoot my first John C. Garande match next weekend and could use a little advise so I don't look like a complete moron. I've read the rules on the CMP site about the 10 shot strings of fire. Do I shoot eight-reload and shoot two and then eject the rest or do they make 2 shot clips that I need to get??

I'm going to use a service grade H&R that I got from the CMP store last summer. As far as I can tell it functions correctly spitting the empties out between 2 and 3 o'clock. Do I sight it in for 100 yds and then raise the rear sites xxxx number of clicks or should I have it zero'd for 200 yds to start with??

Sorry I'm a complete rookie at this type of shooting. I shoot mostly IDPA style pistol matches.

Thanks

Denny

·
Premium Member
7,055 Posts
I'm not sure how it's done now, but way back when dirt was new one loaded two rounds- it can be done with a normal clip and a little luck-but I think there are two round clips now. Then a normal reload.

Sight settings typically begin and the first range of the match so if you start at 100 you go up from there but you'll need to shoot your rifle to learn the sight changes.

·
Registered
1,432 Posts
These usually start off by loading two rounds, then re-loading with a full clip.
You can buy or even alter a standard clip to hold two rounds or you can load the old way:
With the bolt open, drop an empty clip in the magazine.
Insert two rounds and push them into the magazine until the bolt will close and chamber the first round.
This usually takes two hands, and you should practice with some dummy rounds.

For sighting in the M1, you have two choices of aiming and two choices of setting the sights.

First, you have to decide how you want to aim the rifle, with the hunter and combat shooters center of the target, or the target shooter's 6:00 O'clock hold.