Gun Hub Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:?: OK, so which one is best? Some people say; ‘Gas’ and others say; ‘Charcoal’. I’ve had a gas grille for, about, ten years now. It’s certainly easy to use and quick to clean; but every time we go over to my brother-in-law’s, his wife insists on using a charcoal barbeque grille. I got ‘a admit her food tastes pretty good, too. I’ve noticed that it’s a real pain to shuffle all those dirty little briquettes around; and it, also, seems to take forever for the fire to heat up; but, like I said; ‘Her food is pretty tasty!' :eek:

I think I can give my sister-in-law a pretty good, ‘run for the money’ with my gas grille; but, quite frankly, I’m an old backyard barbeque chef from; ‘way back’ and I know how to use every trick in Steven Raichlen’s outdoor grille book: Typically, I’ll use a spray bottle loaded with beer, ceramic briquettes, and water-soaked mesquite chips to improve the flavor of my gas grilled food. I understand, ‘When’ to turn my meats, too. (I watch for the top side to start bleeding and the edges to change color.) I, also, marinate most of my barbeque meats in vacuum-sealed vinaigrette bags in order to cut marinade time and improve flavor penetration. I’m not above cheating by using a kitchen timer; and I watch the cooking thermometer, too.

After last year’s grilling season I’m, just, wondering if my sister-in-law knew all of my tricks would her charcoal grilled foods taste any better than my gas grilled fare? It’s about time for us to buy a new grille; the gas models are pretty pricy; but a high-end charcoal model may be had for less than 200 bucks. So, what do you think? :cheers:

·
Site Founder
4,081 Posts